Lord, Campbell, Pizzillo re-elected

Kourtney Balsan's picture

Mayor Georgia Lord and Council members Wally Campbell and Joe Pizzillo were re-elected to the Goodyear City Council March 14, while newcomers Brannon Hampton and Sara Gilligan will move on to a runoff election May 16.

Lord obtained 8,004 votes beating former Mayor Jim Cavanaugh who garnered 4,431.

“It is my honor to earn your trust and look forward to continuing to
work hard for the best interest of the residents of Goodyear,” Lord said. “I would like to say thank you to the voters of Goodyear for recognizing that the city is heading in the right direction and we
have made so many good strides over the past few years. I promise to continue to fight for the taxpayers, attract more high quality jobs, and fight to protect Luke Air Force Base.”

Pizzillo received 7,768 votes, and Campbell got 6,908.

“I’m very appreciative of all the support that I’ve received from the residents,” Pizzillo said. “I’m very honored to be serving again as the city’s council member and I look forward to moving the city forward and improving the lives of all our residents.”

Runoff election to be held

A total of 12,562 voters cast ballots, for a potential 37,686 votes for the three council seats.

None of the three newcomers obtained a majority of the votes, or 6,282, to secure the last seat.

Hampton received 6,094, Gilligan captured 5,755 and Jayson Black got 5,653.

To calculate the majority, all votes, including under votes and over votes, were used.

Under votes are missing votes. They happen when voters don’t vote for as many candidates as they can. If three seats are open but someone only votes for one candidate, two under votes are counted.

Over votes are the opposite. They happen when voters vote for more candidates than they are allowed. If three seats are open and someone votes for five candidates, two over votes are counted, and that portion of the ballot is voided.

Under votes totaled 5,422 and over votes totaled 36 for the three council seats.

Early voting for the May 16 runoff election starts April 19. Ballots may be mailed or dropped off from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day at Goodyear City Hall, 190 N. Litchfield Road, Goodyear, or the Maricopa County Recorder and Elections Office, 111 S. Third Ave., Phoenix.


Kourtney Balsan can be reached at Kbalsan@westvalleyview.com.

Rate this article: 
Average: 4 (1 vote)
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 17 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Comment Here