Goodyear council

Goodyear City Council and mayoral candidates will meet with voters from 2 to 4 p.m. Saturday, May 14, at the Eagles Nest Clubhouse Ballroom in PebbleCreek, 3645 Clubhouse Drive, Goodyear. 

It is open to the public.

Nine nonpartisan candidates are running for mayor and the three city council seats up for election on Aug. 3. If candidates do not receive 50% of the vote at the election, there will be a runoff Nov. 9.

Mayor Joe Pizzillo, who was appointed to the position in December 2021, will seek election as mayor. He is opposed by write-in candidate Carlita Cotton.

There are seven candidates for the three council seats, including incumbents Wally Campbell and Brannon Hampton. They are challenged by Benita Beckles, Sharnai Fisher, Tamara Floyd, Vicki Gillis and Atenas Rodriguez. Councilmember Patrick Bray, who was appointed to the seat in February, did not seek election.

The candidates will deliver opening and closing remarks and then answer questions from the moderator and from the audience.

The forum is sponsored and hosted by the Pebble Creek Democratic Club.