Bob Musselwhite Michael Muscato and Bob Olsen

Bob Musselwhite of Litchfield Park, left, Michael Muscato of Peoria and Bob Olsen of Sun City filed as Democrat candidates in the 8th Congressional District. They will be on the ballot in the Aug. 4 primary. 

While other congressional races have little competition, likely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, one West Valley district has a healthy field of candidates.

The Aug. 4 primary election will have three Democrat candidates for the 8th Congressional District.

 Rep. Debbie Lesko was the only Republican to file in District 8, which includes parts of Goodyear, Litchfield Park, Waddell, Glendale and Peoria.

The three Democrats on the primary ballot for the 8th Congressional District: Michael Muscato of Peoria, Bob Musselwhite of Litchfield Park and Bob Olsen of Surprise.

Kyle Martin of Glendale filed as a write-in candidate.

Jimmy Rodriguez of Glendale filed a statement of interest for the District 8 seat but failed to turn in the necessary signatures to make the ballot.

In the 3rd Congressional District, which includes Buckeye and Avondale, only incumbent Raúl Grijalva filed as a Democrat candidate. Daniel Wood was the lone Democrat to make the ballot in the 3rd Congressional District, though Richard Jolley is a write-in candidate.

The 7th Congressional District, which includes parts of Tolleson and Glendale, had just three candidates file: incumbent Ruben Gallego, a Democrat, and Republicans Joshua Barnett of Phoenix and Nina Becker of Sun City. Becker has withdrawn from the race.

In state District 4, which includes Buckeye and Goodyear, incumbents Geraldine “Gerae” Peten and Charlene Fernandez were the only two to file for the two House of Representatives seats. Incumbent Sen. Lisa Otondo of Yuma was the lone Democrat to file for the District 4 state Senate seat and Travis Angry of Goodyear the lone Republican to file.

In Avondale-Tolleson District 19,  incumbent Sen. Lupe Contreras was the only Democrat to file; Steven Robinson of Phoenix is a write-in Republican candidate. 

Incumbent Paul Boyer of Glendale was the only Republican to file and Douglas Irvine of Phoenix was the only Democrat to file for the state senate position in District 20.

Incumbents Anthony Kern of Glendale and Shawnna Bollick of Phoenix were the only two Republicans to file for the two state representatives of District 20. Judy Schweibert of Phoenix filed as a Democrat for District 20.

In District 21, incumbent Kevin Payne of Peoria and challengers Beverly Pingerelli of Peoria and Randy Miller of Sun City filed as Republican candidates while Kathy Knecht of Peoria was the lone Democrat to file. Incumbent Tony Rivero of Peoria did not file.

Incumbent Rick Gray filed for the District 21 senate 21 as a Republican, with Ryan Eldridge of Peoria a Republican write-in candidate. Brian Whitman of Peoria was the lone Democrat to file for the District 21 senate seat.